Aging backward is in the eye of the beholder

imageWell, here’s something I didn’t expect. I’ve been doing these steps for a while now. I’ve been eating healthier, losing weight, and even using some pretty expensive facial products. All positive improvements, and all designed to help me age backwards. Yes, that’s right. I just read a new buzz phrase, and it’s captured my interest. Can we really age backwards? I’ve kind of been killing myself trying lately.

I thought I was making some progress, too. Rolling back the years and slowing the inevitable progression of time.

Let me tell you a story. I went to the YMCA this morning at my usual crack of dawn, did 3 miles on the track, and swam (doggy paddled) for a little while. I was relaxing in the hot tub, when the elderly gentleman next to me struck up a conversation. We were talking about age, and he said, “So, what are you, 65?”

“Ummm. No?” I replied, a little huffily. “I’m 60.”

And suddenly, all the hard work and maintenance I’ve been doing, seemed to dribble away like so much hot air out of an old balloon.

I look 5 years older than I am? What the hell??

Needless to say, I went to work in a giant funk. What is the purpose of trying to age backward when it appears that I’m aging faster?

An existential crisis for sure. I moped all day about it. But, tonight I’m finally coming to grips with it. I’ve decided that a) the elderly gentleman probably had major cataracts and couldn’t see me properly or b) maybe I used to look 70 and this is an improvement, or c) why do I care what someone else thinks anyway? I thought he was 80. Maybe he was really 75. It’s all relative.

I’m going to continue my journey. With any luck, I’ll still look 65 ten years from now. Or, I can stop being fixated on a number. Yes, I like that approach best of all.

Photo by Andrew John Manzella

Leave a Reply

