planning for winter

imageLately, it’s been getting harder to finish 10,000 steps a day. It seems like everything is conspiring to derail me, including Mother Nature and the tilt of the earth’s axis. The days are getting shorter here in the North East, so I can no longer get out there and get some steps before work, because it’s technically still night time. I live in the country with no streetlights and I’m not about to walk up and down these rough country roads in the dark. Besides, we have coyotes. I’d like to see them before they see me.

Also, paradoxically, our weather has been more like the rainforest than upstate New York lately. A few days ago, it was 93 degrees with 75% humidity. I don’t think walking in air that feels like a sauna towel is fun.

So, I’ve been turning to a treadmill to get my steps. I don’t like it much. It’s boring, and the quest becomes only a mission to get steps, not getting outside and being in nature.

The last few days have been gorgeous fall weather and I’ve been out there walking again, but I have to adjust for the ever shortening daylight. Now instead of walking at 5:45 am, I’m finding that I need to run out there at 6:30 when it’s finally light out, do a quick half hour up the hill and back, and then rush to work, (and most likely be late). Then I have to get right out there again after dinner, or risk coming back in the dark with all those coyotes.

What am I going to do in the winter? It will be dark until 7:30 am and dark again at 4:30 pm. Not to mention our famous mega snow storms and serious footage of accumulated yuck. There aren’t even any sides to the roads in the winter. Nowhere to walk, and the very real risk of being hit by an over-zealous snow plow.

This is going to take some planning. And I think there are treadmills in my future. There’s no way around it.

But for now, it’s fall, and even thought the days are shortening, it’s still possible to get my steps in outside. I’ll just take it as it comes, I guess.

 

Leave a Reply

